Mechanics of Seeing September/October 2022

With Michael Wood and Julie DuBose

Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing focuses on developing the basic skills that we need to clear our minds of the filters, associations, and The Basic Prejudices that we all have, the likes, the dislikes, and the ignoring of what we consider unworthy of attention.

This is not strictly a photography course. It is about developing a state of being and a state of mind that is free of conceptual preoccupation. Only then can we have an experience of fresh, unconditional perception. And then we can use our camera in a simple way to express our perception precisely as it is seen. 

True to Life:  If you love to take photographs, and you have experienced stillness and relaxation of your mind in your meditation practice, and you want to bring that mind to your experience of seeing and to your photography, this is for you.

We highly recommend that you have a background in mindfulness/awareness meditation practice.

As we say in MIksang: ” Seeing is a State of Mind”

Classes involve discussions about student experience of visual exercises done daily during the week between classes, as well as image viewing and discussion of assignments. The course involves photographing assignments during the week between class meetings, as well as daily practice of the visual contemplations.

Required Reading to participate in this workshop is: Opening the Good Eye by Michael Wood, before the course begins. It it available for purchase as a PDF HERE

For a complete description of Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing CLICK HERE

• Format: Zoom Meetings

Dates: (one class per day)
Saturday September 17
Saturday September 24
Saturday October 1
Saturday October 8
Saturday  October 15
Saturday October 22

Class times are 1.5- 2  Hours, with break in the middle

Times Zones (Start Times)
Pacific:                      8 AM
Mountain:                  9 AM
Central:                    10 AM
Eastern:                   11 AM
Atlantic:                   12 PM
Western Europe           4 PM
Central Europe             5 PM

Miksang Zoom Meeting FAQ’s

COST: $395 USD

THIS WORKSHOP IS FULL


CANADIAN RESIDENTS – $395 CAD +HST (Contact us for an Invoice)