Opening The Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing

Workshop Format:
Zoom Meetings

Workshop Status:
2 SPACES REMAINING IN THIS WORKSHOP
THIS WORKSHOP IS CONFIRMED

Schedule:

Dates: (one class per day)
Saturday September 18 and Sunday September 19
Saturday September 25 and Sunday September 26
Saturday October 2 and Sunday October 3

Class times are 2 – 2.5 Hours, with break in the middle

Times Zones
Pacific:       10am – 12:30pm
Mountain:   11am – 1:30 pm
Central:      12pm – 2:30pm
Eastern:       1pm – 3:30pm
Atlantic:       2pm – 4:30 pm

2 SPACES REMAINING IN THIS WORKSHOP

Description:

Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing focuses on developing the basic skills that we need to clear our minds of the filters, associations, and the basic prejudices that we all have, the likes, the dislikes, and the ignoring of what we consider unworthy of attention.

This is not strictly a photography course. It is about developing a state of being and a state of mind that is free of conceptual preoccupation. Only then can we have an experience of fresh, unconditional perception. And then we can use our camera in a simple way to express our perception precisely as it is seen.

It will be helpful if you have some experience in mindfulness/awareness meditation practice. As we say in Miksang,” Seeing is a State of Mind”. Our courses are not just photography courses, and in order to fully participate in this and connect with what we are presenting, we will introduce you to a series of visual exercises called “Settling into Awareness during your course of study. These visual exercises are the way in to direct seeing. You will find these amazingly effective ways in to opening up and transforming how and what you see.

Having said that, we do work with the technical aspects such as how to express our perceptions precisely with our cameras and bring our images to exactly express our perception in the editing process.

The Assignments of This Course are:

• Synchronizing Eye and Mind Through the Medium of Color
• Texture and the Full-bodied Experience of Seeing
• Seeing with the Mind of Simplicity

The Practices of Opening the Good Eye are:

Settling Into Awareness:
• Settling and Landing
• Recognizing Direct Perception
• Paying Deep Attention

For a more detailed description about what we will be exploring in this Workshop go to:  https://www.miksang.com/miksangjourney/

Miksang Workshop FAQ Page

Cost: $395 USD

Required Reading: ‘Opening the Good Eye: A Path To True Seeing’ Available HERE

• The tuition includes the Opening the Good Eye Book Companion ($40.00 USD Value) in PDF Format.

Contact Us

REGISTER HERE

• NOTE: If this registration link is not active, the course is full.

Learn More:
Watch a video of previous participants talking about their experience of the Institute

Read an interview with Michael and Julie in the Kyoto Journal

Meet Your Instructors

Michael Wood
Miksang Institute Founder and Teacher
Julie DuBose
Miksang Institute Founder and Teacher