Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing

Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing With Ron Barnett

Workshop Format:
Zoom Meetings

Workshop Status:
WORKSHOP IS CONFIRMED

Schedule:

Dates: (One 2 Hour Class Per Day)
Saturday July 31 and Sunday August 1
Saturday August 7 and Sunday August 8
Saturday August 14 and Sunday August 15

Times Zones:
Pacific: 11am – 1pm PDT
Mountain: 12pm – 2pm MDT
Central: 1pm – 3pm CDT
Eastern: 2pm – 4pm EDT


Description:
Opening the Good Eye: The Mechanics of Seeing focuses on developing the basic skills that we need to clear our minds of the filters, associations, and the basic prejudices that we all have, the likes, the dislikes, and the ignoring of what we consider unworthy of attention.

This is not strictly a photography course. It is about developing a state of being and a state of mind that is free of conceptual preoccupation. Only then can we have an experience of fresh, unconditional perception. And then we can use our camera in a simple way to express our perception precisely as it is seen.

It can be helpful to have some experience in mindfulness/awareness meditation practice. As we say in Miksang,” Seeing is a State of Mind”. Our courses are not just photography courses, and in order to fully participate in this workshop and connect with what we are presenting, we will introduce you to a series of visual exercises called “Settling into Awareness during your course of study. These exercises are the way in to direct seeing. You will find these amazingly effective ways in to opening up and transforming how and what you see.

Having said that, we do work with the technical aspects such as how to express our perceptions precisely with our cameras and bring our images to exactly express our perception in the editing process.

The Assignments of This Course are:

• Synchronizing Eye and Mind Through the Medium of Color
• Texture and the Full-bodied Experience of Seeing
• Seeing with the Mind of Simplicity

The Practices of Opening the Good Eye are:

Settling Into Awareness:
• Settling and Landing
• Recognizing Direct Perception
• Paying Deep Attention

For a more detailed description about what we will be exploring in this Workshop go to:  https://www.miksang.com/miksangjourney/

Miksang Workshop FAQ Page

Cost:
$320 USD

Required Reading: ‘Opening the Good Eye: A Path To True Seeing’ Available HERE

• The tuition includes the Opening the Good Eye Book Companion ($40.00 USD Value) in PDF Format.

REGISTER HERE

• NOTE: If this registration link is not active, the course is full.

Learn More:
Watch a video of previous participants talking about their experience of the Institute

Meet Your Instructor: Ron Barnett